• ROM
Ministry of foreign affairs and european integration of the republic of Moldova

Useful links

The United Nations Office at Geneva (UNOG)

Press releases

Ambassador Tudor Ulianovschi presides the 64th annual session of the UNCTAD Trade and Development Board

On the 11th of September, following the unanimous vote in the plenary of the annual session of the UNCTAD Trade and Development Board, Ambassador Tudor Ulianovschi, Permanent Representative of the Republic of Moldova to the United Nations Office at Geneva was elected President of the Trade and Development Board, the high-level decision-making body overseeing the activities of the organization in-between the quadrennial Conferences.

Ambassador Tudor Ulianovschi has been appointed as candidate by a large number of States, which represent 3 of the 4 UNCTAD regional groups: Group D representing Eastern Europe countries, Group of the European Union states and Group of developed countries (United States, Japan, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and South Korea).

The high-level segment of UNCTAD, taking place from the 11th to the 22nd of September 2017, will include debates on the integration and disintegration processes of the world economy, interdependence and inclusive economic growth, investment for the development of digital economies, technical assistance offered by UNCTAD to the least-developed and land-locked countries, the strategic plan and the budget of the organization, as well as the follow-up on the implementation of decisions adopted by UN conferences and summits in the economic and social field. The theme of this year’s annual session was determined in the context of two landmark anniversaries for regional integration, namely the sixtieth anniversary of the European Union and the fiftieth anniversary of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

Participants of the high-level segment include the Secretary General of UNCTAD, Mr. Mukhisa Kituyi, Secretary General of ASEAN, Mr. Le Luong Minh, Deputy Director General of WTO, Mr. David Shark, Deputy Director General of OECD, Mr. Doug Franz, Executive Director of the International Trade Center, Ms. Arancha Gonzalez, as well as Ambassadors of the UN Member States.